Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

Energy-Scenrios: Energy Scenario School (Helmholtz Research School)

The Helmholtz Research School on Energy Scenarios provides a structured educational programme for international PhD students in the research field of energy scenarios.

Project Duration

2011 to 2019

The Helmholtz Research School on Energy Scenarios provides a structured educational programme for international PhD students in the research field of energy scenarios. Three pillars representing the “life-cycle” of energy scenarios form the topical focus of the programme:

  1. New methods for the construction of energy scenarios are developed in order to address the complex transformation of the energy system,
  2. the impacts of scenarios on energy policy and public debate are investigated from an empirical perspective,
  3. methods to systematically assess and compare various energy scenarios are developed. 

The research school is financed by the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres and is carried out in cooperation with seven institutes: three KIT institutes, two institutes at the University of Stuttgart (including ZIRIUS), the German Aerospace Center DLR and the Fraunhofer ISI. In order to cover the interdisciplinary setting of the programme besides energy economics and engineering, philosophy, social sciences and technology assessment are also involved. 

The programme is coordinated by KIT and ZIRIUS. ZIRIUS is in charge of the research school's location in Stuttgart and contributes to the curriculum. One of the research projects of the school conducted by ZIRIUS dealt with “Methods of social context inclusion in energy scenario construction”

The planned transformation of the German energy system is ambitious and currently unique. The lack of experience on an international level increases the pressure on the search for suitable ways to implement the energy transition. The infrastructure development, phasing out of nuclear energy and the expansion of renewable energies must be planned with foresight, since these projects require intense investment and are thus only amortised in the medium to long term. This makes it all the more important for politics and science to be able to rely on a scientific basis for evaluating measures and making decisions.

Using mathematical modelling, designs for future energy supply, distribution and usage structures can be developed in the form of energy scenarios. However, this requires assumptions about the future development of various social factors, such as population development, GDP development, oil price development, etc. The energy system transformation process is constructed based on these framework assumptions. In light of the close interaction between technological and societal development, the choice of framework parameters has a strong impact on the results of calculations, especially if rarely considered but equally influential factors such as the popular acceptance of the energy transition, change in values, political stability, vulnerability to economic crises, etc. are considered. In the current modelling practice, however, social contexts are taken into account only to a limited extent with little systematic attention. In order to better cope with the complexity of social contexts and the uncertainty and bandwidth of future social developments, a well-founded analysis of driving social factors and their mutual influences is essential for the credibility and validity of energy scenarios.

The dissertation project “Methods of Social Context Inclusion in Energy Scenario Construction”, which is embedded in the interdisciplinary Energy Scenario School of the Helmholtz Research Association and closely collaborates with that of theForesight project Helmholtz Alliance, Energy-Transdeals with the integration of social contexts into energy system modelling. It explores socio-technical connections and uses Cross-Impact Balance analysis  (CIB) as core scenario methodology to develop consistent social context scenarios that attempt to address and present the uncertainty of social developments. In a further step, the interactions between the designed social scenarios and the energy system are considered and analysed. 

Contact Person

Project Staff

Former Project Staff

Jörg Hilpert (M.A.)

Activ for ZIRIUS until 2018

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

Energieszenarien: Energy Scenario School (Helmholtz Graduiertenschule)

Die Helmholtz Graduiertenschule "Energieszenarien" bietet ein strukturiertes Ausbildungsprogramm für internationale Doktoranden im Bereich Energieszenarien.

Projektlaufzeit

2011 bis 2019

Die Helmholtz Graduiertenschule "Energieszenarien" bietet ein strukturiertes Ausbildungsprogramm für internationale Doktoranden im Bereich Energieszenarien. Das Programm begleitet die Qualifikationsarbeiten. Die Vermittlung von Lehrinhalten gliedert sich anhand der drei Abschnitte des "Lebenszyklus" von Energieszenarien:

  1. Neue Methoden der Konstruktion von Energieszenarien,
  2. Analyse der Wirkungen von Energieszenarien im gesellschaftlichen Prozess (Politik und gesellschaftiche Debatte),
  3. Bewertung der durch die Szenarien beschriebenen Prozesse und ihrer Folgen, z.B. in ihrer Bedeutung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Die Graduiertenschule wird von der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft getragen und von KIT-ITAS geleitet. An dem Ausbildungs- und Forschungsprogramm nehmen neben ITAS das KIT-Institut für Philosophie (IfP), das KIT-Institut für Industriebetriebslehre und Industrielle Produktion (IIP), das Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI), das Institut für Energiewirtschaft und Rationelle Energieanwendung der Universität Stuttgart (IER), das Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung der Universität Stuttgart (ZIRIUS) und das Institut für Technische Thermodynamik der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt (ITT-DLR) teil.

ZIRIUS koordiniert den Stuttgarter Standort der Graduiertenschule, trägt zum Ausbildungsprogramm bei.

Mit dem Projekt „Methods of social context inclusion in energy scenario construction”war ZIRIUS am Forschungsprogramm der Schule beteiligt. 

Die geplante Transformation des deutschen Energiesystems ist ambitioniert und bisher einzigartig. Das Fehlen von Erfahrungen auf internationaler Ebene erhöht den Druck auf die Suche nach geeigneten Wegen, die Energiewende zu vollziehen. Der Infrastrukturausbau, der Ausstieg aus der Kernenergie und der Ausbau von erneuerbaren Energien müssen vorausschauend geplant werden, da diese Vorhaben investitionsintensiv sind und sich somit nur mittel- bis langfristig amortisieren können. Umso wichtiger ist es für Politik und Wirtschaft auf eine wissenschaftliche Basis zurückgreifen zu können, anhand derer Maßnahmen evaluiert und Entscheidungen getroffen werden.

Mittels mathematischer Modellierung können Entwürfe der zukünftigen Energiebereitstellungs-, verteilungs- und Nutzungsstrukturen in Form von Energieszenarien skizziert werden. Dies erfordert jedoch Annahmen über die zukünftige Entwicklung verschiedener gesellschaftlicher Einflussgrößen, beispielsweise Bevölkerungsentwicklung, BIP-Entwicklung, Ölpreisentwicklung, etc. Der Transformationsprozess des Energiesystems wird entlang dieser Rahmenannahmen konstruiert. Aufgrund des engen Zusammenspiels zwischen technologischer und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung hat die getroffene Auswahl an Rahmenparametern starke Auswirkungen auf die Ergebnisse der Berechnungen, insbesondere wenn auch noch selten berücksichtigte, aber ebenfalls einflussreiche Faktoren wie Akzeptanz der Energiewende durch die Bevölkerung, Wertewandel, Politikstabilität, Gefährdung durch wirtschaftliche Krisen, etc. mit einbezogen werden. In der gegenwärtigen Modellierungspraxis werden die gesellschaftlichen Kontexte jedoch nur eingeschränkt und wenig systematisch berücksichtigt. Um der Komplexität gesellschaftlicher Kontexte sowie der Unsicherheit bzw. Bandbreite zukünftiger gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen besser Rechnung tragen zu können, ist eine fundierte Analyse treibender gesellschaftlicher Faktoren und ihrer wechselseitigen Einflüsse wesentlich für die Glaubwürdigkeit und Aussagekraft von Energieszenarien.

Das Dissertationsprojekt „Methods of social context inclusion in energy scenario construction”, das in die interdisziplinäre Energy Scenario School der Helmholtz Forschungsgemeinschaft eingebettet ist und eng mit dem Foresight-Projekt der Helmholtz Allianz Energy-Trans kooperiert, beschäftigt sich mit der Integration gesellschaftlicher Kontexte in die Energiesystemmodellierung. Dabei werden sozio-technischen Zusammenhänge beleuchtet und mit Hilfe der Cross-Impact-Bilanzanalyse (CIB) als zentrale Szenario-Methodik konsistente gesellschaftliche Kontextszenarien entwickelt, die versuchen die Unsicherheit gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen aufzugreifen und darzustellen. In einem weiteren Schritt werden die Wechselwirkungen zwischen den entworfenen Gesellschaftsszenarien und dem Energiesystem betrachtet und analysiert.

Ansprechpartner

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Ehemalige Projektmitarbeiter

Jörg Hilpert (M.A.)

Tätig für ZIRIUS bis 2018