Dieses Bild zeigt

Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

Projects

All current ZIRIUS projects and those completed within the last two years. Cross-departmental and listed alphabetical.

+-

In this joint project, scenarios for the German energy transition will be created based on a wide spectrum of energy and economic models. On the one hand, ZIRIUS supports the use of findings of social science acceptance research in energy modelling. ZIRIUS also advises the partners on the application of CIB analysis, which is used in the project to analyse social framework conditions.

To the Project

The systematic analysis of risks associated with various influences on water supply and demand is complex and has received little attention. This research project addresses this challenge by collaborating with various interdisciplinary research groups in Switzerland, Germany and Peru to combine data on water supply and demand in an integrated water balance model.

To the Project

Model-based analysis and evaluation of the effects of grid self-sufficiency in regions in the German energy system.

100% renewable energy regions, bio-energy villages, and even cities like Flensburg and Frankfurt have set themselves ambitious targets concerning their energy supply and CO2 reduction. But what effects do these developments have on the entire energy system in Germany?

To the Project

The energy transition in Germany requires a thorough transformation of energy conversion, distribution and use, Up to now, research has mainly focussed on developing technical solutions for individual areas of the energy system. However, the energy transition requires more. The project “Navigation System for the Energy Transition” (ENavi) examines the interaction between technology development, organisation forms, regulation and behaviour.

To the Project

After the reactor catastrophe in Fukushima in 2011, the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS was founded to supplement technically oriented energy research with a socio-scientific interdisciplinary perspective. The design for researching the transformation of the energy system was aimed at examining the interplay between technical potential, innovation processes, user behaviour, political and economic framework conditions, conflicts and control processes. ZIRIUS participated in all five issues.

To the Project

The project pursues pursues an interdisciplinary approach to the socio-technical energy transformation in Baden-Württemberg by focussing on the topic from an engineering, economic and socio-scientific perspective. While the project partners develop and model climate protection scenarios, ZIRIUS is responsible for the socio-scientific analysis.

To the Project

The project focuses on a country-by-country, representative population survey of attitudes to climate change and the energy transition in Britain, Germany, France and Norway. An analysis of the socio-political contexts and an international stakeholder panel form the basis of the theoretically sound survey tool. The “Topline Findings” report in the EPCC study offers an insight into the main findings.

To the Project

The Helmholtz Research School on Energy Scenarios provides a structured educational programme for international PhD students in the research field of energy scenarios. Three pillars representing the “life-cycle” of energy scenarios form the topical focus of the programme:

  1. New methods for the construction of energy scenarios are developed in order to address the complex transformation of the energy system,
  2. the impacts of scenarios on energy policy and public debate are investigated from an empirical perspective,
  3. methods to systematically assess and compare various energy scenarios are developed. 

To the Project

The real-world laboratory Future City_Lab seeks to explore potentials for change of urban mobility cultures. Thereby, a key focus is placed on the close cooperation with citizens and civil society actors.

To the Project

IBESSA examines the life cycle of energy scenarios, in other words processes from creation to reception and processing by social stakeholders. Scenarios should be plausible; but what does this mean in methodological development? How do scenario users evaluate plausibility and what does this mean for the effectiveness of scenarios? IBESSA develops empirical and conceptual perspectives in relation to this.

To the Project

In a consortium with partners in engineering and economics, ZIRIUS uses focus groups and conjoint analysis to examine the societal evaluation of key technologies in the transformation process of the energy transition through focus groups. It also explores how socio-scientific data from conjoint analysis can be integrated into the evaluation of energy scenarios as a social dimension of sustainability.

To the Project

The tasks of the healthcare system in Baden-Württemberg are increasing. Therefore, discussions with patients were carried out to determine needs and wishes for a future healthcare system in the region, and bundle them into a proposal for the state government.

To the Project

+-

Early-stage participation of citizens for  sustainable development in Baden-Württemberg

The Living Lab: City District 4.0 is a testing field for tools for visualisation and digital participation formats in the planning processes of Stuttgart and Herrenberg.

To the Project

As part of the collaborative project and in close cooperation with the citizens of the town of Schorndorf, a non-stop, needs-based, innovative operating concept for public transport and a corresponding vehicle design will be developed.

To the Project

The junior research group DynaMo seeks to develop interdisciplinary knowledge about the interplay of social, technical and political factors in the transformation of urban mobility systems. By involving practitioners and stakeholders in a transdisciplinary cooperation process, (policy) recommendations for the implementation of sustainable mobility concepts are developed.

To the Project

The nascent project explores the potential for development of a sustainable transformation of the food sector. It examines how these new business forms can be characterised and how their role can be estimated in the food sector.

Can such small, niche initiatives become the drivers of sustainable change in the food system and launch socially-oriented entrepreneurship, social innovation and the spread of new sustainability standards?

To the Project

For the further development of an energy system model (Sozio-E2S) developed by the project partner Fraunhofer ISE, the investment behaviour of various types of stakeholders (cooperatives, small utilities, large energy suppliers) in energy technology is examined. In a further step, a group Delphi procedure will be carried out in order to assess future behaviour and roles of stakeholders in the energy system.

To the Project

The aim of PROSO is to encourage the participation of third-sector stakeholders and citizens in the area of research and innovation. Options and recommendations for this are developed using three exemplary fields: nanotechnology, health and nutrition and bioeconomy.

To the Project

Modern critical infrastructures are becoming increasingly “smarter” (e.g. cities). Making the infrastructures “smarter” usually means making them smarter in normal operation and use: more adaptive, more intelligent… But will these smart critical infrastructures (SCIs) behave equally “smartly” and be “smartly resilient” also when exposed to extreme threats, such as extreme weather disasters or terrorist attacks?

To the Project

TechnikRadar is a joint project by the Körber Foundationacatech, ZIRIUS and theDepartment of Sociology of Technology and Environment at the University of Stuttgart. The aim of the project is the regular collection of empirical data and analysis of the attitudes, expectations and perspectives in relation to new technologies and technical change.

To the Project

Using the example of the Río Lurín water catchment area in the region of Lima, Peru, experts from various disciplines are collaborating in the joint project TRUST to develop planning tools as well as water and wastewater disposal concepts primarily for drinking water supply. ZIRIUS coordinates the project with the overall objective of contributing to the achievement of the sustainable development goals.

To the Project

Using the example of the Neckar valley in Stuttgart, the WECHSEL research project addresses the transformation of industrial riverside areas into sustainable urban living environments. To do this, an interdisciplinary project team determines energy potentials and derived potential for land use for a “City on the River”, collaborating with various stakeholders from business, science, administration and civil society.

To the Project

Children and young people develop their own climate protection measures for their municipality. This reduces the discrepancy between being able to take part in decision-making and having to assume the consequences.

As part of the German National Climate Initiative (NKI), support is being given to German municipalities that offer their young people the freedom to develop their own projects. With WirWollenMehr, young people decide for themselves which climate protection measures they find sensible and necessary. The young people will be introduced to the subject of climate protection through a series of workshops. The jointly developed proposals and specifically planned measures will be implemented by and with the young people. 

To the Project

Dieses Bild zeigt

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

Projekte

Alle laufenden und in den letzten zwei Jahren abgschlossenen Projekte von ZIRIUS. Forschungsbereichsübergreifend und alphabetisch sotiert.

+-

In diesem Verbundprojekt sollen Szenarien für die deutsche Energiewende auf Basis eines breiten Spektrums von Energie- und Wirtschaftsmodellen erstellt werden. ZIRIUS unterstützt zum einen bei der Nutzung von Erkenntnissen der sozialwissenschaftlichen Akzeptanzforschung in der Energiemodellierung. Weiter berät ZIRIUS die Partner bei der Anwendung der CIB Analyse, die im Projekt zur Analyse gesellschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen eingesetzt wird.

Zum Projekt

Die systematische Analyse von Risiken im Zusammenhang mit verschiedenen Einflüssen auf Wasserangebot und –nachfrage ist komplex und bisher wenig behandelt worden. Dieses Forschungsprojekt geht diese Herausforderung an, indem verschiedene interdisziplinäre Forschungsgruppen in der Schweiz, Deutschland und Peru zusammenarbeiten und Daten zu Wasserangebot und –nachfrage in einem integrierten Wasserbilanzmodell kombinieren.

Zum Projekt

Modellgestützte Analyse und Bewertung der Auswirkungen einer Netzautarkie von Regionen im deutschen Energiesystem
100%-Erneuerbare-Energie-Regionen, Bioenergiedörfer, aber auch Städte wie Flensburg oder Frankfurt am Main haben sich ehrgeizige Ziele bezüglich ihrer Energiebereitstellung und CO2-Reduktion gesetzt. Welche Auswirkungen haben jedoch diese Entwicklungen auf das gesamte Energiesystem Deutschland?

Zum Projekt

Die Energiewende erfordert einen tiefgreifenden Umbau der Energieerzeugung, -verteilung und –nutzung in Deutschland. Bisher hat sich die Forschung vor allem darauf konzentriert, technische Lösungen für einzelne Bereiche des Energiesystems zu entwickeln. Doch die Energiewende erfordert mehr. Das Projekt „Energiewende Navigationssystem“ (ENavi) untersucht die Wechselwirkung zwischen Technikentwicklung, Organisationsformen, Regulierung und Verhalten.

Zum Projekt

Nach der Reaktorkatastrophe in Fukushima 2011 wurde die Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS gegründet, um die technisch ausgerichtete Energieforschung um eine sozialwissenschaftlich geprägte interdisziplinäre Perspektive zu ergänzen. Das Design zur Erforschung der Transformation des Energiesystems als komplexes sozio-technisches System war auf die Untersuchung des Wechselspiels zwischen technischen Potenzialen, Innovationsprozessen, Nutzerverhalten, politischen und ökonomischen Randbedingungen, Konflikten sowie Steuerungsprozessen ausgerichtet. ZIRIUS war an allen fünf Themenfeldern beteiligt.

Zum Projekt

Das Projekt strebt einen interdisziplinären Zugang zur sozio-technischen Energietransformation in Baden-Württemberg an, indem sich dem Thema von ingenieurs-, volkswirtschaftlicher- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Perspektive gewidmet wird. Während die Projektpartner Klimaschutzszenarien entwickeln und modellieren, ist das ZIRIUS für die sozialwissenschaftliche Analyse verantwortlich.

Zum Projekt

Kernstück des Projektes ist eine ländervergleichende, repräsentative Bevölkerungsumfrage zu den Einstellungen hinsichtlich Klimawandel und Energiewende in Großbritannien, Deutschland, Frankreich und Norwegen. Eine Analyse der sozio-politischen Kontexte Analyse der sozio-politischen Kontexte und ein internationales Stakeholder-Panel bilden die Grundlage für das theoretisch fundierte Surveyinstrument. Der Bericht „Topline Findings“ der EPCC-Studie gibt Einblicke in die Kernergebnisse.

Zum Projekt

Die Helmholtz Graduiertenschule "Energieszenarien" bietet ein strukturiertes Ausbildungsprogramm für internationale Doktoranden im Bereich Energieszenarien. Das Programm begleitet die Qualifikationsarbeiten. Die Vermittlung von Lehrinhalten gliedert sich anhand der drei Abschnitte des "Lebenszyklus" von Energieszenarien.

Zum Projekt

Das Reallabor Future City_Lab erforscht mit Hilfe von Realexperimenten Möglichkeiten des Wandels städtischer Mobilitätskulturen. Zentral ist dabei die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Bürgerinnen und Bürgern sowie zivilgesellschaftlichen Akteuren.

Zum Projekt

IBESSA untersucht den Lebensweg von Energieszenarien, also Prozesse von der Erstellung bis hin zur Rezeption und Verarbeitung durch gesellschaftliche Akteure. Szenarien sollen plausibel sein; was aber bedeutet dies in der methodischen Entwicklung, wie bewerten Szenario-Nutzer Plausibilität und was bedeutet dies für die Effektivität von Szenarien? IBESSA entwickelt dazu empirische und konzeptionelle Perspektiven.

Zum Projekt

ZIRIUS untersucht in einem Konsortium mit ingenieurs- und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Partnern die gesellschaftliche Bewertung von Schlüsseltechnologien im Transformationsprozess Energiewende mittels Fokusgruppen. Außerdem wird erforscht wie mittels Conjoint-Analyse gewonnene sozialwissenschaftliche Daten der Bewertung von Energieszenarien in diese als soziale Dimension des Nachhaltigkeitsbegriffs integriert werden können.

Zum Projekt

Die Aufgaben der Gesundheitsversorgung in Baden-Württemberg werden durch den demografischen Wandel zunehmend größer. Daher wurden in Diskussionsrunden mit PatientInnen und Behandelnden in sieben Krankheitsbildern durchgeführt um Bedürfnisse und Wünsche für ein zukünftiges Gesundheitssystem BW zu ermitteln und mit den Partnern (Kreisgesundheitsämter RT, BC und RV) zu einem Vorschlag für die Landesregierung zu bündeln.

Zum Projekt

+-

Die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe DynaMo erarbeitet interdisziplinäres Wissen über das Zusammenspiel planungs-, politik-, verhaltens- und technologiebezogener Aspekte bei der Gestaltung von Mobilitätslösungen in urbanen Räumen. In einem transdisziplinären Kooperationsprozesses wird dieses Wissen unter Einbindung von Praxisakteuren in adressatengerechte Handlungsempfehlungen übersetzt.

Zum Projekt

Das Projekt nascent untersucht Entwicklungspotenziale hin zu einer nachhaltigen Transformation der Ernährungswirtschaft. Es stellt sich die Frage, wie diese neuen Wirtschaftsformen charakterisiert werden können und wie ihre Rolle im Ernährungssektor einzuschätzen ist.

Können solche kleinen Initiativen von der Nische aus Treiber einer nachhaltigen Veränderung des Ernährungssystems werden und sowohl ein gesellschaftsorientiertes Unternehmertum, soziale Innovationen als auch die Verbreitung neuer Nachhaltigkeitsstandards auf den Weg bringen?

Zum Projekt

Für die Weiterentwicklung eines Energiesystemmodells (Sozio-E2S) des Projektpartners Fraunhofer ISE wird das Investitionsverhalten unterschiedlicher Akteurstypen (Genossenschaften, kleine Stadtwerke, große Energieversorger) in Energietechnologien untersucht. In einem weiteren Schritt wird ein Gruppendelphi durchgeführt, um das zukünftige Verhalten, die zukünftigen Rollen der Akteure im Energiesystem abzuschätzen.

Zum Projekt

PROSOs Ziel ist es, die Beteiligung von Akteuren des Dritten Sektors und von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern im Bereich Forschung und Innovation zu fördern. Dafür entwickelt das Projekt Optionen und Empfehlungen, wie die Beteiligung auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene aktiv gefördert und wirksam umgesetzt werden kann. Die Optionen und Empfehlungen werden anhand von drei Beispielfeldern: Nanotechnologie, Gesundheit und Ernährung, sowie Bioökonomie.

Zum Projekt

Im Rahmen des Verbundvorhabens wird unter enger Einbindung der Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Stadt Schorndorf ein haltestellenloses, bedarfsorientiertes, innovatives Bedienkonzept für den ÖPNV sowie ein dafür ausgelegtes Fahrzeugkonzept entwickelt.

Zum Projekt

Im Reallabor Stadt:quartier 4.0 wird in Herrenberg und Stuttgart der Einsatz von Visualisierungswerkzeugen und digitalen Beteiligungsformen in Stadtplanungsprozessen erprobt.

Zum Projekt

Modern critical infrastructures are becoming increasingly “smarter” (e.g. cities). Making the infrastructures “smarter” usually means making them smarter in normal operation and use: more adaptive, more intelligent… But will these smart critical infrastructures (SCIs) behave equally “smartly” and be “smartly resilient” also when exposed to extreme threats, such as extreme weather disasters or terrorist attacks?

Zum Projekt

Beim TechnikRadar handelt es sich um ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von der Körber-Stiftung, acatech, ZIRIUS und dem Lehrstuhl für Technik- und Umweltsoziologie an der Universität Stuttgart. Ziel des Projektes sind die regelmäßige empirische Datenerhebung und Analyse von Einstellungen, Erwartungen und Perspektiven in Bezug auf neue Technologien und technischen Wandel.

Zum Projekt

Am Beispiel des Wassereinzugsgebiets des Río Luríns in der Region Lima/Perú entwickeln Experten verschiedener Disziplinen im Verbundprojekt TRUST Planungswerkzeuge sowie Wasserver- und Abwasserentsorgungskonzepte vorrangig für die Trinkwasserversorgung. ZIRIUS koordiniert das Projekt mit dem Oberziel, einen Beitrag zur Erreichung der nachhaltigen Entwicklungsziele zu leisten.

Zum Projekt

Am Beispiel des Stuttgarter Neckartals thematisiert das Forschungsprojekt WECHSEL die Transformation industriell geprägter Flussufer hin zu urbanen nachhaltigen Lebensräumen. Dafür erarbeitet ein interdisziplinäres Projektteam Energiepotenziale und daraus resultierende Flächenpotenziale für eine „Stadt am Fluss“ unter Einbindung verschiedener Akteure aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft.

Zum Projekt

Kinder und Jugendliche entwickeln eigene Klimaschutzmaßnahmen für ihre Kommune. Die Diskrepanz zwischen „Mitbestimmen dürfen“ und „Folgen tragen zu müssen“ wird dadurch verringert.

Im Rahmen der nationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) werden bundesweit Kommunen gefördert, die Jugendlichen einen Freiraum bieten, eigene Projekte zu entwickeln. Bei „WirWollenMehr“ bestimmen die Jugendlichen selbst, welche Klimaschutzmaßnahmen sie sinnvoll und notwendig finden. Die Jugendlichen werden in mehreren Workshops an das Thema Klimaschutz herangeführt. Die gemeinsam entwickelten Vorschläge und konkret geplanten Maßnahmen werden von und mit den Jugendlichen umgesetzt. 

Zum Projekt