SyKonaS: Systemic Conflict Analysis by means of Scenario Technique: Understanding and Anticipating Social Conflicts and their Interactions in the Energy Transition and Developing Proposals for Solutions

The joint project SyKonaS develops a fundamental, conceptual and methodological approach for the analysis of actor conflicts in energy transition pathways. Together with the project partners, ambitious emission reduction scenarios are analyzed with regard to their conflict potential and instruments for conflict resolution are evaluated and (further) developed.

Project funding

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)

Project duration

April 2021 until March 2024

Motivation

According to current studies, the fundamental approval of relevant actors and the general population for the German Energiewende remains at a relatively high level. At the same time, case studies on the expansion of renewable energies often show a contradictory picture with, in part, conflictual disputes. These conflicts can represent significant barriers to the further development of the Energiewende.

With a view to the possible development pathways of the energy system transition, which are developed with the help of techno-economic energy system models, societal conflicts at different actor levels must be anticipated and addressed even before they manifest themselves in implementation. It is therefore of great relevance for both energy system modelers and decision makers to gain a better understanding of different types of conflicts and their interactions with institutional, technological, economic and legal framework conditions of the energy transition. The joint project SyKonaS addresses the existing research gap of a systemic and prospective view of societal conflicts of the Energiewende and also proposes concrete solutions that are directly connectable to the concerns of relevant stakeholders.

Aims and approach

The aim of SyKonaS is to develop a basic, conceptual and methodological approach for the analysis and integration of actor conflicts in energy transition pathways. For the development of the methodology, the focus is on societal conflicts in the transformation of the electricity sector, while a basic transferability to other sectors should also be ensured.

SyKonaS addresses the following questions:

  • Which conflicts characterize the energy transition in Germany (Energiewende) and which systemic interactions exist between different conflict and actor levels? To what extent are these conflicts forced by the regulatory, economic and other framework conditions of the energy transition?
  • How conflictual are selected transition pathways (scenarios) that are significant for scientific discourse and how can conflict analyses be considered and integrated in energy system models?
  • Which energy policy measures and instruments, g. participation formats and compensation mechanisms, change actor positions and lead to the resolution or intensification of certain conflicts?
  • How can lines of conflict in possible transition paths be anticipated? How can they be counteracted with meaningful measures instead of merely reacting to them after they have arisen?

To analyze and identify conflicts, SyKonaS goes beyond traditional, predominantly case-based social science research designs and adopts a systemic perspective. By means of a semi-quantitative system analysis, the cross-impact balance analysis, the interactions between conflicts on different levels of the transformation process on the one hand, and the institutional, technical, economic and legal framework conditions on the other hand are taken into account (conflict lines). With the participation of four different scientific disciplines, it will be analyzed which conflicts are inherent in prominent energy scenarios. For this purpose, a typology of energy transition conflicts will be developed and supplemented by a corresponding analysis of existing instruments. On this basis, the conflict potential of three prominent energy scenarios will be evaluated. By means of cross-impact balance analysis, the interdependencies between conflict lines and directional decisions of the energy transition are estimated. For identified conflict lines, consistent solution tools are developed. In order to support the knowledge gain with practical knowledge, stakeholders are involved who contribute to the identification of conflicts, the assessment of systemic interactions and the development of solutions.

Expected results and transfer

SyKonaS provides a methodology to make systemic barriers of an energy system transition transparent. In this way, SyKonaS supports energy system modelers to integrate findings on societal conflicts in different energy transition pathways. Together with modelers of the Systems Analysis Research Network, guidelines for the integration of conflict analyses into models will be developed. The central findings of the joint project will be prepared in a practical aid (on the scale of a policy brief). In this way, practical actors will gain knowledge about how to deal with societal conflicts and will be able to disseminate this knowledge in their sectors, fields of activity and networks.

SyKonaS/ iKonS subproject

ZIRIUS coordinates the SyKonaS joint project. In the sub-project SyKonaS/iKonS, ZIRIUS is responsible for the development of a typology of energy transition conflicts, the assessment of societal conflicts in energy scenarios and the systemic analysis of interactions between conflict lines and framework conditions of the energy transition by means of cross-impact balance analysis (CIB). ZIRIUS is involved in the (further) development of new instruments for conflict resolution, using the method of policy packaging.

 

Contact Person

Project Staff

Managing Director / Spokesperson for the Research Area Energy Research
Phone: +49 711 685-84812
To the top of the page

SyKonaS: Systemische Konfliktanalyse mittels Szenariotechnik: Gesellschaftliche Konflikte und deren Wechselwirkungen in der Energiewende verstehen, antizipieren und Lösungsvorschläge entwickeln

Das Verbundvorhaben SyKonaS entwickelt eine grundsätzliche, konzeptionelle und methodische Herangehensweise zur Analyse von Akteurskonflikten in Energietransformationspfaden. Gemeinsam mit den Projektpartnern werden ambitionierte Emissionsreduktionsszenarien mit Blick auf ihr Konfliktpotenzial analysiert und Instrumente zur Konfliktlösung bewertet und (weiter-)entwickelt.

Projektförderung

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)

Projektlaufzeit

April 2021 bis März 2024

Motivation

Aktuellen Studien zufolge bleibt die grundsätzliche Zustimmung relevanter Akteure sowie der breiten Bevölkerung zur Energiewende auf einem relativ hohen Niveau. Gleichzeitig zeigen Fallstudien zum Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien oft ein widersprüchliches Bild mit zum Teil konflikthaften Auseinandersetzungen. Diese Konflikte können maßgebliche Barrieren für den weiteren Verlauf der Energiewende darstellen.

Mit Blick auf die möglichen Entwicklungspfade der Energiewende, die mithilfe von techno-ökonomischen Energiesystemmodellen entwickelt werden, müssen gesellschaftliche Konflikte auf unterschiedlichen Akteursebenen antizipiert und adressiert werden, noch bevor sie sich in der Umsetzung manifestieren. Sowohl für Energiesystemmodellierer als auch für Entscheider ist es daher von großer Relevanz, ein besseres Verständnis für unterschiedliche Konflikttypen und ihre Wechselwirkungen mit institutionellen, energietechnischen, ökonomischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der Energiewende zu erhalten. Das Verbundvorhaben SyKonaS adressiert die bestehende Forschungslücke einer systemischen und prospektiven Betrachtung gesellschaftlicher Konflikte der Energiewende und schlägt außerdem konkrete Lösungen vor, die direkt anschlussfähig an Anliegen relevanter Praxisakteure sind.

Ziele und Vorgehen

Das Ziel von SyKonaS ist es, eine grundsätzliche, konzeptionelle und methodische Herangehensweise zur Analyse und Integration von Akteurskonflikten in Energietransformationspfaden zu erarbeiten. Zur Entwicklung der Methodik liegt der Fokus auf gesellschaftlichen Konflikten bei der Transformation des Stromsektors, wobei eine grundsätzliche Übertragbarkeit auch auf andere Sektoren gewährleistet sein soll.

SyKonaS bearbeitet folgende Fragestellungen:

  • Welche Konflikte charakterisieren die Energiewende in Deutschland und welche systemischen Wechselwirkungen gibt es zwischen unterschiedlichen Konflikt- und Akteursebenen? Inwieweit werden ebendiese durch ordnungsrechtliche, ökonomische und sonstige Rahmenbedingungen der Energiewende forciert?
  • Wie konfliktreich sind ausgewählte, für den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs bedeutsame Transformationspfade (Szenarien) und wie können Konfliktanalysen in Energiesystemmodellen berücksichtigt und integriert werden?
  • Welche energiepolitischen Maßnahmen und Instrumente, z. B. Beteiligungsformate und Ausgleichsmechanismen, verändern Akteurspositionen und führen zur Auflösung oder Verschärfung bestimmter Konflikte?
  • Wie können Konfliktlinien in möglichen Transformationspfaden antizipiert werden? Wie kann ihnen mit sinnvollen Maßnahmen entgegengesteuert werden, statt lediglich nach ihrer Entstehung auf sie zu reagieren?

Zur Analyse und Identifikation von Konflikten geht SyKonaS über traditionelle, überwiegend fallbezogene sozialwissenschaftliche Forschungsdesigns hinaus und nimmt eine systemische Perspektive ein. Mittels einer semi-quantitativen Systemanalyse, der Cross-Impact Bilanzanalyse, werden die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Konflikten auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen des Transformationsprozesses einerseits, und den institutionellen, technischen, ökonomischen und rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen andererseits in den Blick genommen (Konfliktlinien). Unter Mitwirkung von vier verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen wird analysiert, welche Konflikte in prominenten Energieszenarien angelegt sind. Dazu wird eine Typologie von Energiewendekonflikten erarbeitet und um eine korrespondierende Aufarbeitung bestehender Instrumente ergänzt. Auf dieser Basis wird das Konfliktpotenzial dreier prominenter Energieszenarien bewertet. Mittels Cross-Impact Bilanzanalyse werden die Interdependenzen zwischen Konfliktlinien und Richtungsentscheidungen der Energiewende abgeschätzt. Für identifizierte Konfliktlinien werden konsistente Lösungsinstrumente entwickelt. Um den Erkenntnisgewinn durch Praxiswissen zu stützen, werden Praxisakteure eingebunden, die zur Identifikation der Konflikte, zur Bewertung der systemischen Wechselwirkungen und zur Entwicklung von Lösungsinstrumenten beitragen.

Erwartete Ergebnisse und Transfer

SyKonaS stellt eine Methodik bereit, mit der systemische Hemmnisse einer Energiesystemtransformation transparent gemacht werden können. Damit unterstützt SyKonaS Energiesystemmodellierer, Erkenntnisse zu gesellschaftlichen Konflikten in unterschiedlichen Energiewendepfaden zu integrieren. Gemeinsam mit Modellierern des Forschungsnetzwerks Systemanalyse sollen Leitlinien zur Integration der Konfliktanalysen in Modelle erarbeitet werden. Die zentralen Erkenntnisse des Verbundvorhabens werden in einer Praxishilfe (im Umfang eines Policy Briefs) aufbereitet. Dadurch gewinnen Praxisakteure an Handlungswissen über den Umgang mit gesellschaftlichen Konflikten und können dieses Handlungswissens als Multiplikatoren in ihre Branchen, Tätigkeitsfelder und Netzwerke hineintragen.

Teilvorhaben SyKonaS/ iKonS

ZIRIUS koordiniert das SyKonaS Verbundvorhaben. Im Teilvorhaben SyKonaS/iKonS ist ZIRIUS zuständig für die Erarbeitung einer Typologie von Energiewendekonflikten, die Abschätzung gesellschaftlicher Konflikte in Energieszenarien und die systemische Analyse der Wechselwirkungen zwischen Konfliktlinien und Rahmenbedingungen der Energiewende mittels Cross-Impact Bilanzanalyse (CIB). Bei der (Weiter-)Entwicklung neuer Instrumente zur Konfliktlösung wirkt ZIRIUS mit und setzt dabei die Methode des Policy-Packaging ein.

 

Ansprechpartner

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Sprecher Forschungsbereich Methodenentwicklung / Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter / Leiter des CIB Lab
Telefon: +49 711 685-84301
Zum Seitenanfang