Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

Sustainability and Transformation Research Area

Interdisciplinary and Transdisciplinary Analyses of Socio-technical Change.

In this research area, we deal with socio-technical transformation processes such as the energy, nutrition or mobility transition. This includes both empirical and conceptual work with a focus on sustainability issues. Key questions are:

  • How can socio-technical transformation processes be adequately described and analysed? Which mechanisms, drivers and barriers play a crucial role?
  • How can such transformation processes be influenced and shaped in terms of sustainable development?

Our research projects focus on the analysis of changes in behavioural and attitudinal patterns (micro level), organisational fields (meso level), as well as cultural and socio-economic structures (macro level).

Most projects in this research area aim at interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary knowledge production and application. An essential feature of this research area is the collaboration with other scientific disciplines as well as actors from policy-making, economy and civil society.

Current Projects of this Research Area

The real-world laboratory Future City_Lab seeks to explore potentials for change of urban mobility cultures. Thereby, a key focus is placed on the close cooperation with citizens and civil society actors.

To the Project

"GartenLeistungen” explores the multidimensional services of urban gardens, parks and green spaces for urban society.

To the Project

The junior research group DynaMo seeks to develop interdisciplinary knowledge about the interplay of social, technical and political factors in the transformation of urban mobility systems. By involving practitioners and stakeholders in a transdisciplinary cooperation process, (policy) recommendations for the implementation of sustainable mobility concepts are developed.

To the Project

The joint research project wants to explore, how urban and rural municipalities can benefit from cooperation and from more sustainable land use. It aims at jointly developing strategies on the regional level, which combine the following dimensions: land use, sustainability and inter-municipal cooperation. ZIRIUS is coordinating the sub-project ‘conflicts and policy mixes’.

To the Project

The aim of the project is the regular collection of empirical data and analysis of the attitudes, expectations and perspectives in relation to new technologies and technical change.

To the Project

The WECHSEL research project uses the example of the Neckar valley in Stuttgart to address the transformation of industrial riverside areas into sustainable urban living environments. For this purpose, it bundles interdisciplinary competencies in order to offer high-quality suggestions for Stuttgart as a river city.

To the Project

Members Research Area Sustainability and Transformation

Contact

This image showsMarco Sonnberger
Dr.

Marco Sonnberger

Spokesperson for the Research Area Sustainability and Transition Research

 

Sabine Mücke

Secretary

To the top of the page

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

Forschungsbereich Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation

Interdisziplinäre und transdisziplinäre Analysen zu soziotechnischen Wandlungsprozessen

In diesem Forschungsbereich beschäftigen wir uns mit soziotechnischen Transformationsprozessen wie beispielsweise der Energie-, Ernährungs- oder Mobilitätswende. Dies umfasst sowohl empirische als auch konzeptionelle Arbeiten mit einem Fokus auf Fragen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Die Bearbeitung der folgenden Leitfragen ist dabei zentral:

  • Wie lassen sich soziotechnische Transformationsprozesse angemessen beschreiben und analysieren? Welche Mechanismen, Treiber und Hemmnisse wirken dabei?
  • Wie lassen sich solche Transformationsprozesse im Hinblick auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung beeinflussen und gestalten?

Die konkreten Forschungsarbeiten beziehen sich auf den Wandel von Handlungsmustern und -orientierungen (Mikro-Ebene), organisationalen Feldern (Meso-Ebene) sowie kulturellen und sozio-ökonomischen Strukturen (Makro-Ebene).

Der Forschungsbereich beteiligt sich hauptsächlich an Projekten, die auf eine inter- und transdisziplinäre Wissenserzeugung und Wissensanwendung abzielen. Ein wesentliches Merkmal des Forschungsbereichs ist die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen sowie Akteuren aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.

Aktuelle Projekte des Forschungsbereichs

Wie werden die Menschen in und um Stuttgart zukünftig mobil sein? Und wie kann diese Mobilität sozial und ökologisch nachhaltig gestaltet sein? Diesen Fragen geht das ZIRIUS im Projekt Reallabor für nachhaltige Mobilitätskultur gemeinsam mit wissenschaftlichen und außerwissenschaftlichen Partnerinnen und Partnern nach. Das Aufgabenfeld des ZIRIUS umfasst dabei die Entwicklung, Begleitung und methodische Auswertung transdisziplinärer und transformativer Partizipationsprozesse.

Zum Projekt

Das Projekt GartenLeistungen erforscht die vieldimensionalen Leistungen der urbanen Gärten, Parks und Grünflächen für die Stadtgesellschaft.

Zum Projekt

Das Verbundprojekt will aufzeigen, wie städtische und ländliche Kommunen von einer Zusammenarbeit und einer Verbesserung der nachhaltigen Landnutzung profitieren können. Ziel ist es, gemeinsam auf regionaler Ebene eine Strategie zu entwickeln, die folgende drei Handlungsebenen praxisnah miteinander verbindet: Flächenmanagement, Nachhaltigkeit und interkommunale Kooperation. ZIRIUS koordiniert das Teilprojekt Konflikte und Maßnahmenbündel.

Zum Projekt

Die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe DynaMo erarbeitet interdisziplinäres Wissen über das Zusammenspiel planungs-, politik-, verhaltens- und technologiebezogener Aspekte bei der Gestaltung von Mobilitätslösungen in urbanen Räumen. In einem transdisziplinären Kooperationsprozesses wird dieses Wissen unter Einbindung von Praxisakteuren in adressatengerechte Handlungsempfehlungen übersetzt.

Zum Projekt

Ziel des Projektes sind die regelmäßige empirische Datenerhebung und Analyse von Einstellungen, Erwartungen und Perspektiven in Bezug auf neue Technologien und technischen Wandel.

Zum Projekt

Das Forschungsprojekt WECHSEL thematisiert am Beispiel des Stuttgarter Neckartals die Transformation industriell geprägter Flussufer hin zu nachhaltigen urbanen Lebensräumen. Hierfür bündelt es interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen, um qualitätsvolle Anregungen für das Thema „Stadt am Fluss“ zu bieten.

Zum Projekt

Mitglieder des Forschungsbereichs Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation

Sprecher Themenbereich Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation / Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Telefon: +49 711 685-84297

Kontakt

Dieses Bild zeigt  Marco Sonnberger
Dr.

Marco Sonnberger

Sprecher Themenbereich Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation / Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Zum Seitenanfang