Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

Helmholtz-Allianz EnergyTrans

After the reactor catastrophe in Fukushima in 2011, the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS was founded to supplement technically oriented energy research with a socio-scientific interdisciplinary perspective. The design for researching the transformation of the energy system was aimed at examining the interplay between technical potential, innovation processes, user behaviour, political and economic framework conditions, conflicts and control processes. ZIRIUS participated in all five issues.

Project Funding

Half from the Helmholtz Association Initiative and Networking Fund and half from the project partners

Project Duration

2011 to 2016

Future infrastructures of energy supply – on the way to sustainability and responsibility

The transformation of the energy supply infrastructure in terms of sustainable development and accelerated phasing out of nuclear energy poses a significant challenge. In order to tackle these challenges in an interdisciplinary manner, ZIRIUS at the University of Stuttgart has joined forces with seven other partners in the new interdisciplinary Helmholtz Alliance Future Infrastructures of Energy Supply. The following research institutions are involved in the Alliance: the four Helmholtz centres Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Forschungszentrum Jülich, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) and German Aerospace Center (DLR), the Universities of Stuttgart, Magdeburg and FU Berlin and the Centre for European Economic Research in Mannheim. It is coordinated by KIT. The spokespersons are Professor Armin Grunwald, director of the Institute for Technology Assessment and System Analysis (ITAS) at KIT and Professor Ortwin Renn from the University of Stuttgart. Over the five-year term until 2016, the Helmholtz Alliance has a project volume of 16.5 million euros.

The key objective of the Alliance is to explore the multiple interfaces between technical and social factors that significantly influence the transformation process towards new energy infrastructures. On this basis, strategies will then be developed to make the transformation process efficient and socially compatible. In addition to scientific knowledge, therefore, “knowledge for action” is developed, which, according to the self-image of the Alliance, should be actively involved in social debates, stakeholder discussions and political consulting. The Alliance is committed to informing decision-makers from politics, business and society, actively involving them in research work and contributing to the general public's understanding of the complex relationships within the energy sector.

+-

The targeted transformation of energy infrastructures requires an interplay of technological and social change across all areas of life. Here, technical systems for electricity, heat and fuel supply interact with consumer behaviour in households, the economy and transport, within the political framework and social developments such as demographic changes, lifestyle changes and changes in values. This complex interplay is the central focus of the Helmholtz Alliance. In order to understand it and to define and discuss ways of coordinated change for the entire complex, the Helmholtz Alliance is developing “Integrated Scenarios” of the transformation process. These scenarios are intended to describe alternative development paths and make their requirements recognisable. The “Integrated Scenarios” project is being carried out under the direction of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) with the participation of Forschungszentrum Jülich and ZIRIUS. The task of ZIRIUS in this project is to develop social scenarios that break down the uncertainties of the social framework for the transformation process and bundle them in alternative social images. These social scenarios will be developed by ZIRIUS using cross impact balance analysis (CIB) as the central scenario methodology and will serve to question the feasibility and stability of the various paths imaginable from a technological perspective in terms of the social framework conditions.

In addition to the scenario development, collaboration between eight research institutions in a total of 17 projects requires a harmonised approach in the field of foresight activities of the Helmholtz Alliance. Since all projects deal with different aspects of the future of the German energy infrastructures, many of them either use foresight methods themselves or use foresight products such as prognoses, forecasts or scenarios. To ensure that the foresight activities of the projects take place on a harmonised basis with regard to their methods and data and the opportunities for methodological further development of foresight techniques can be exploited within the framework of the Alliance, the Helmholtz Alliance has set up the “Horizontal Task Foresight Integration”.

Together with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), this cross-sectional activity led by ZIRIUS has the task of operating a communication platform for all partners in order to ensure the harmonisation of central framework assumptions concerning future development (such as population and economic development) and methodological further developments in the field of foresight methods, such as the combination of quantitative and qualitative analysis tools. Part of the tasks of the “Horizontal Task Foresight Integration” is also the creation of GIS-based risk maps, which shed light on the relationships between possible developments in the energy plants and infrastructures and the associated risks, vulnerabilities and conflict potentials.

  • Project duration:  2011 to  2016
  • Contact person:  Dr. Gerhard Fuchs
  • Staff:                   Dr. Gerhard Fuchs, Nele Hinderer, Gregor Kungl, Dr. Mario Neukirch

The energy system is a good example of a “large technical system” that is characterised by a considerable degree of institutional indolence and path-dependent development. In order to adapt the system to new requirements, such as those formulated by political institutions or the public, it needs to develop a significant amount of adaptability. The more solidified and complex the existing organisational and institutional structures are, the more difficult it is to achieve a fundamental transformation. This is especially true of fields characterised by tightly woven networks and capital-intensive, technical structures – like the energy system, for instance.

Transformation does not have to take place through a one-time, disruptive initiative. Transformation can also be achieved through many small steps of adjustment. Steps of adjustment take place in longer-lasting phases of discontinuity and uncertainty. During such phases, movement may take place towards a new, dominant field structure. The project “Adaptive Capacities, Path Creation and Sectoral Change” aims to analyse the driving forces, stakeholders and developments that are moving towards a transformation of the energy system or want to prevent this transformation.

In terms of methodology, the project primarily uses document and data analyses, as well as expert interviews.

General
The project is a sub-project of the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS, which is funded by the Helmholtz Association and the State of Baden-Württemberg (see the general project information on ENERGY-TRANS). The project runs from August 2011 to July 2016. The project is being carried out in close collaboration with other project partners within the Helmholtz Alliance, in particular with the Department of Systems Analysis and Technology Assessment of the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

Aims
The aim of the project is the analysis of the interplay of intermediaries, organisations and institutions in the course of the transformation of the energy system. On the one hand, it examines how different stakeholders organise or hinder the process of change. On the other hand, the project examines how stakeholders and networks of stakeholders are influenced by new regulatory mechanisms and institutions. 
The analysis is carried out for different sub-fields of the energy system. A particular focus is on emerging fields that are coming into being as part of the transformation, such as the direct marketing of electricity from renewables, flexibility options (storage technologies, demand side management or the establishment of capacity mechanisms) and energy saving services for private households. 
For two fields (direct marketing and flexibility mechanisms), the stakeholder analyses then form the basis for the (further) development of an agent-based model “AMIRIS” (for which the project partner DLR is responsible). The aim of AMIRIS is to analyse how different regulatory frameworks affect the behaviour of the stakeholders who organise the current challenges related to the energy transition, the market and system integration of electricity from renewable energies.

Methods
The stakeholder analyses are carried out with the help of document analyses, guideline-based qualitative expert interviews and workshops with the key stakeholder groups. The agent model is programmed in Java in the Repast Simphony simulation environment.

ZIRIUS coordinated the research field “User Behaviour and Demand Management” and implemented two projects:

  • “Efficient in Bahnstadt – Smart Meter Web Portal for Sustainable Electricity Use” (sub-project of “Effectiveness and Efficiency of Interventions”)
  • “Individual Rebound Behaviour in Car Mobility” (sub-project of “Determinants of Energy-Relevant Decisions and Behaviour in Households”)

 

The focus of both projects was on private households whose adaptation and participation in the transformation of energy infrastructures is of great importance. Households are no longer mere consumers of seemingly “unlimited” energy resources, but are required to deal with energy sustainably and efficiently.

A key research topic was smart metering. Smart meters serve as an interface between households and traditional and new network infrastructures (smart grids). Through the creation of complementary information tools, they open up new possibilities for motivating and supporting sustainable energy consumption behaviour.

In the field study “Efficient in Bahnstadt”, a smart meter web portal was developed with action-phase-oriented information architecture. It accompanies users from the development of a savings target to the implementation of new energy-saving behaviour. The impact of the web portal on user interaction and power consumption was evaluated. It was established that user interaction that encourages commitment to electricity-saving tips and the self-monitoring of implementation progress resulted in significant savings.

Rebound effects in individual energy consumption behaviour were another focus of the research. They threaten to destroy technical efficiency improvements. So far, however, the psychological processes underlying the rebound effect have received little attention.

In the study “Individual Rebound Behaviour in Car Mobility”, this was examined in the context of car-based mobility. First, a theoretical framework model was developed. It was based on economic and psychological and sociological explanations of the rebound effect, mobility-specific behavioural models and theories of environmentally relevant decisions. Subsequently, car buyers were asked about their motives when buying a car and changes in their user behaviour in a mixed-method design. The question was whether technical improvements in the car's efficiency lead to one of the three types of individual car rebound behaviour. These are the purchase of a larger model, covering longer distances or faster driving. It transpires that such rebound behaviour only comes to light in very specific constellations and motivations. Overall, the efficiency gains have a facilitating but no causal effect on rebound behaviour.

  • Project duration: 2011 to 2016
  • Contact person: Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer
  • Staff:                  Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer, Oliver Scheel, Regina Schröter

The development of sustainable and socially responsible energy infrastructures cannot be achieved without the involvement of stakeholders and the public. On the one hand, it is assumed that political decisions can be improved through appropriate communication and participation processes, as more expertise can thus be channelled. On the other hand, it is supposed that political decisions made with the participation of stakeholders and the public can be implemented more easily and better. Despite these advantages of participation procedures, there is still a need for research regarding the involvement of the public and stakeholders in energy supply planning processes. ZIRIUS therefore deals with the potential of discursive participatory processes in Research Area E of the Helmholtz Alliance. In a first step, the potential of participation processes in the planning of energy supply will be discussed. In a second step, deliberative, group-based participation procedures are specifically implemented.

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

Helmholtz-Allianz EnergyTrans

Nach der Reaktorkatastrophe in Fukushima 2011 wurde die Helmholtz-Allianz ENERGY-TRANS gegründet, um die technisch ausgerichtete Energieforschung um eine sozialwissenschaftlich geprägte interdisziplinäre Perspektive zu ergänzen. Das Design zur Erforschung der Transformation des Energiesystems war auf die Untersuchung des Wechselspiels zwischen technischen Potenzialen, Innovationsprozessen, Nutzerverhalten, politischen und ökonomischen Randbedingungen, Konflikten sowie Steuerungsprozessen ausgerichtet. ZIRIUS war an allen fünf Themenfeldern beteiligt.

Projektförderung

zur Hälfte durch den Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, zur andere Hälfte von den Projektpartnern

Projektlaufzeit

2011 bis 2016

Zukünftige Infrastrukturen der Energieversorgung - Auf dem Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit und Sozialverträglichkeit

Die Transformation der Infrastruktur der Energieversorgung unter Aspekten nachhaltiger Entwicklung und eines beschleunigten Ausstiegs aus der Kernenergie stellt eine erhebliche Herausforderung dar. Um diese Herausforderungen interdisziplinär zu bearbeiten, hat sich ZIRIUS von der Universität Stuttgart mit sieben weiteren Partnern in der neuen interdisziplinären Helmholtz-Allianz „Zukünftige Infrastrukturen der Energieversorgung“ zusammengeschlossen. An der Allianz sind folgende Forschungseinrichtungen beteiligt: die vier Helmholtz-Zentren Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Forschungszentrum Jülich, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) und Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), die Universitäten Stuttgart, Magdeburg und FU Berlin sowie das Zentrum für Europäische Wirtschaftsforschung in Mannheim. Die Koordination liegt beim KIT. Sprecher sind Professor Armin Grunwald, Direktor des Instituts für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT und Prof. Ortwin Renn von der Universität Stuttgart. Die Helmholtz-Allianz verfügt über die fünf Jahre Laufzeit bis 2016 über ein Projektvolumen von 16,5 Millionen Euro.

Das wesentliche Ziel der Allianz besteht darin, die vielfältigen Schnittstellen zwischen technischen und sozialen Faktoren zu erforschen, die den Transformationsprozess hin zu neuen Energie-Infrastrukturen maßgeblich beeinflussen. Auf dieser Basis sollen dann Strategien entwickelt werden, wie der Transformationsprozess effizient und sozialverträglich ausgestaltet werden kann. Neben wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnis wird daher „Wissen zum Handeln“ entwickelt, welches, entsprechend dem Selbstverständnis der Allianz, aktiv in die gesellschaftlichen Debatten, in Stakeholder-Diskussionen und in die Politikberatung eingebracht werden soll. Die Allianz fühlt sich der Aufgabe verpflichtet, Entscheidungsträger aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sachgerecht zu informieren und aktiv in die Forschungsarbeit einzubeziehen sowie gegenüber der breiten Öffentlichkeit zum besseren Verständnis der komplexen Zusammenhänge im Energiebereich beizutragen.

+-

Die angestrebte Transformation der Energieinfrastrukturen erfordert das Zusammenspiel des technologischen und des gesellschaftlichen Wandels quer durch alle Lebensbereiche. Hier interagieren technische Systeme zur Strom-, Wärme- und Kraftstoffversorgung mit dem Verbraucherverhalten in Haushalten, Wirtschaft und Verkehr, mit den politischen Rahmensetzungen und mit gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen wie z.B. den demographischen Veränderungen, Lebensstilveränderungen und dem Wertewandel. Dieses komplexe Zusammenspiel ist das zentrale Thema der Helmholtz-Allianz. Um es zu verstehen, und um Wege eines abgestimmten Wandels für den gesamten Komplex beschreiben und diskutieren zu können, werden im Rahmen der Helmholtz-Allianz „Integrierte Szenarien“ des Transformationsprozesses entwickelt. Mit den Szenarien sollen alternative Entwicklungspfade beschrieben und ihre Voraussetzungen erkennbar gemacht werden. Das Projekt „Integrierte Szenarien“ wird unter der Leitung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unter Beteiligung des Forschungszentrums Jülich und ZIRIUS durchgeführt. Aufgabe von ZIRIUS in diesem Projekt ist die Entwicklung von Gesellschaftsszenarien, die die Unsicherheiten der gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen für den Transformationsprozess aufschlüsseln und in alternativen Gesellschaftsbildern bündeln. Diese Gesellschaftsszenarien werden von ZIRIUS unter Verwendung der Cross-Impact Bilanzanalyse (CIB) als zentrale Szenariomethodik entwickelt und werden dazu dienen, die Umsetzbarkeit und die Stabilität der verschiedenen aus technologischer Perspektive denkbaren Pfade aus Sicht der gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen zu hinterfragen.

Auch über die Szenarioentwicklung hinaus erfordert die Zusammenarbeit von acht Forschungseinrichtungen in insgesamt 17 Projekten ein harmonisiertes Vorgehen im Bereich der Foresight-Aktivitäten der Helmholtz-Allianz. Da alle Projekte unterschiedliche Aspekte der Zukunft der deutschen Energieinfrastrukturen behandeln, setzen viele von ihnen entweder selbst Foresight-Methoden ein oder verwenden Foresight-Produkte wie Prognosen, Vorausrechnungen oder Szenarien. Damit die Foresight-Aktivitäten der Projekte hinsichtlich ihrer Methoden und ihrer Daten auf einer harmonisierten Grundlage erfolgen und die Chancen auf methodische Weiterentwicklung von Foresight-Techniken im Rahmen der Allianz genutzt werden können, richtet die Helmholtz-Allianz die „Horizontal Task Foresight Integration“ ein.

Diese von ZIRIUS geleitete Querschnittsaktivität hat die Aufgabe, gemeinsam mit dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine Kommunikationsplattform für alle Partner im Bereich Foresight zu betreiben, die Harmonisierung der zentralen Rahmenannahmen über die zukünftige Entwicklung (wie z.B. Bevölkerungs- und Wirtschaftsentwicklung) sicherzustellen und methodische Weiterentwicklungen im Bereich der Foresight-Methoden, wie z.B. das Zusammenwirken von quantitativen und qualitativen Analysewerkzeugen, voranzutreiben. Teil der Aufgaben der „Horizontal Task Foresight Integration“ ist auch die Erstellung von GIS-gestützten Risk-Maps, die die Zusammenhänge zwischen möglichen Entwicklungen bei den Energieanlagen und -infrastrukturen und den damit verbundenen Risiken, Verwundbarkeiten und Konfliktpotenzialen beleuchten.

  • Projektlaufzeit:      2011 – 2016
  • Ansprechpartner:  Dr. Gerhard Fuchs
  • Mitarbeiter:           Dr. Gerhard Fuchs, Nele Hinderer, Gregor Kungl, Dr. Mario Neukirch

Das Energiesystem ist ein gutes Beispiel für ein „Großes technisches System“, das durch ein erhebliches Maß an institutioneller Trägheit und pfadabhängiger Entwicklung geprägt ist. Um das System an neue Anforderungen anzupassen, die etwa von der Politik oder der Öffentlichkeit formuliert werden, muss es ein erhebliches Maß an Anpassungsfähigkeit entwickeln. Je verfestigter und komplexer die bestehenden organisatorischen und institutionellen Strukturen sind, desto schwieriger ist es, eine grundlegende Transformation zu erreichen. Das gilt in besonderem Maße für Felder, die durch eng gewobene Netzwerke und kapitalintensive technische Strukturen gekennzeichnet sind – wie eben das Energiesystem.

Transformation muss dabei nicht durch einen einmaligen Impuls und disruptiv stattfinden. Transformation kann auch über viele kleine Anpassungsschritte erreicht werden. Anpassungsschritte finden in länger andauernden Phasen von Diskontinuität und Unsicherheit statt. Während solcher Phasen kann eine Bewegung in Richtung einer neuen, dominanten Feldstruktur stattfinden. Das Projekt "Adaptive Kapazitäten, Pfadkreation und Sektoraler Wandel" zielt darauf, die treibenden Kräfte, Akteure und Entwicklungen zu analysieren, die in Richtung einer Transformation des Energiesystems gehen bzw. diese Transformation verhindern wollen.

Methodisch werden im Projekt primär Dokumenten- und Datenanalysen angewandt sowie Experteninterviews durchgeführt.

Allgemeines
Das Projekt ist ein Teilprojekt der Helmholtz Allianz ENERGY-TRANS, die von der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft und dem Land Baden-Württemberg finanziert wird (vgl. die allgemeinen Projektinformationen ‘ENERGY-TRANS’). Das Projekt läuft von August 2011 bis Juli 2016. Das Projekt wird in enger Kooperation mit anderen Projektpartnern innerhalb der Helmholtz Allianz durchgeführt, insbesondere mit der Abteilung für Systemanalyse und Technikbewertung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Ziele
Ziel des Projektes ist die Analyse des Zusammenspiels von Intermediären, Organisationen und Institutionen im Zuge der Transformation des Energiesystems. Dabei wird einerseits untersucht, wie verschiedene Akteure den Wandlungsprozess organisieren oder auch behindern. Andererseits untersucht das Projekt, wie Akteure und Netzwerke von Akteuren durch neue regulatorische Mechanismen und Institutionen beeinflusst werden.
Die Analyse wird für verschiedene Subfelder des Energiesystems durchgeführt. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt dabei auf jenen neu entstehenden Feldern, die sich im Zuge der Transformation herausbilden, wie die Direktvermarktung von Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien, Flexibilitätsoptionen (Speichertechnologien, Demand-Side-Management oder die Etablierung von Kapazitätsmechanismen) und Energiespardienstleistungen für private Haushalte.
Für zwei Felder (Direktvermarktung und Flexibilitätsmechanismen), bilden die Akteursanalysen in einem nächsten Schritt die Basis für die (Weiter-)entwicklung eines agentenbasierten Modells “AMIRIS” (dafür ist der Projektpartner DLR zuständig). Ziel von AMIRIS ist es zu analysieren, wie unterschiedliche regulative Rahmenbedingungen auf das Verhalten der Akteure wirken, die die aktuellen Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit der Energiewende, der Markt- und Systemintegration von Strom aus erneuerbaren Energien, organisieren.

Methoden
Die Akteursanalysen werden mit Hilfe von Dokumentenanalysen, leitfadengestützten qualitativen Experteninterviews und Workshops mit den wichtigen Akteursgruppen durchgeführt. Das Agentemodell wird in Java in der Simulationsumgebung Repast Simphony programmiert.

ZIRIUS koordinierte das Forschungsfeld "Nutzerverhalten und Nachfragesteuerung" und setzte zwei Projekte um:

  • „Effizient in der Bahnstadt – Smart Meter Webportal für eine nachhaltige Stromnutzung“ (Teilprojekt von „Effektivität und Effizienz von Interventionen“)
  • „Individuelles Rebound-Verhalten in der Pkw-Mobilität“ (Teilprojekt von „Determinanten energierelevanter Entscheidungen und Verhaltensweisen bei Haushalten“)

Fokus beider Projekte lag auf der Zielgruppe der privaten Haushalte, deren Anpassung und Beteiligung an der Transformation der Energieinfrastrukturen von großer Bedeutung ist. Haushalte sind nicht mehr nur Verbraucher scheinbar „unbegrenzter“ Energieressourcen, sondern sind gefordert, nachhaltig und effizient mit Energie umzugehen.

Ein zentrales Forschungsthema war ‚Smart Metering’. Smart Meter (intelligente Stromzähler) bilden die Nutzerschnittstelle zwischen Haushalten und den herkömmlichen und neuen Netzinfrastrukturen (Smart Grids). Sie eröffnen durch die  Gestaltung ergänzender Informationsinstrumente neue Möglichkeiten der Motivation und Unterstützung nachhaltigen Energieverbrauchsverhaltens.

In der Feldstudie „Effizient in der Bahnstadt“ wurde ein Smart Meter Webportal mit handlungsphasenorientierter Informationsarchitektur entwickelt. Es begleitet die Nutzer von der Entwicklung eines Einsparziels bis zur Implementierung neuer stromsparender Verhaltensweisen. Die Wirkung des Webportals auf Nutzerinteraktion und Stromverbrauch wurde evaluiert. Es zeigte sich, dass eine Nutzerinteraktion, die Commitment zu Stromspartipps und Selbstmonitoring des Implementierungsfortschritts realisiert, mit signifikanten Einsparungen einherging.

Rebound-Effekte im individuellen Energieverbrauchsverhalten stellten einen weiteren Forschungsschwerpunkt dar. Sie drohen technische Effizienzverbesserungen zunichte zu machen. Bisher sind jedoch die dem Rebound-Effekt zugrunde liegenden psychischen Prozesse kaum untersucht.

In der Studie „Individuelles Rebound-Verhalten in der PKW-Mobilität“ wurde dies im Kontext der PKW-basierten Mobilität erforscht. Zunächst wurde ein theoretisches Rahmenmodell erarbeitet. Es basierte auf ökonomischen und psychologisch-soziologischen Erklärungsansätzen des Rebound-Effekts, mobilitätsspezifischen Verhaltensmodellen und Theorien umweltrelevanter Entscheidungen. Anschließend wurden Autokäufer und Autokäuferinnen zu ihren Motiven beim Automobil-Kauf und zu Änderungen ihres Nutzungsverhaltens in einem Mixed-Methods-Design befragt. Es ging dabei um die Frage, ob technische Effizienzverbesserungen des Autos zu einer der drei Arten individuellen PKW-Rebound-Verhaltens führen. Dies sind die Anschaffung eines größeren Modells, das Zurücklegen längerer Strecken oder schnelleres Fahren. Es zeigt sich, dass derartiges Rebound-Verhalten lediglich in ganz bestimmten Konstellationen und Motivlagen zu Tage tritt. Insgesamt kommt den Effizienzsteigerungen eine erleichternde aber keine kausale Wirkung auf Rebound-Verhalten zu.

  • Projektlaufzeit:     2011 bis 2016
  • Ansprechpartner: Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer
  • Mitarbeiter:          Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer, Oliver Scheel, Regina Schröter

Die Entwicklung von nachhaltigen und sozialverträglichen Infrastrukturen der Energieversorgung kann nicht ohne die Einbeziehung von Stakeholdern und der Öffentlichkeit geschehen. Zum einen wird angenommen, dass sich durch geeignete Kommunikations- und Beteiligungsprozesse politische Entscheidungen verbessern lassen, da so mehr Expertise kanalisiert werden kann. Zum anderen wird davon ausgegangen, dass sich politische Entscheidungen, die mit der Beteiligung von Stakeholdern und der Öffentlichkeit getroffen wurden, leichter und besser umsetzen lassen. Trotz dieser Vorteile von Beteiligungsverfahren herrscht noch Forschungsbedarf hinsichtlich der Beteiligung von Öffentlichkeit und Stakeholdern an Planungsprozessen der Energieversorgung. ZIRIUS befasst sich daher im Forschungsbereich E der Helmholtz-Allianz mit dem Potential von diskursiven Beteiligungsprozessen. Dabei wird in einem ersten Schritt das Potential von Beteiligungsverfahren bei der Planung von Energieversorgung erörtert. In einem zweiten Schritt werden deliberative, gruppenbasierte Beteiligungsverfahren konkret umgesetzt.