Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

Junior Research Group DynaMo – Mobility-Energy-Dynamics in Urban Areas

The junior research group DynaMo seeks to develop interdisciplinary knowledge about the interplay of social, technical and political factors in the transformation of urban mobility systems.

Project Fundation

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Project Duration

August 2016 – July 2021

Most cities are currently struggling with transformation processes in the mobility sector. In collaboration with citizens, civil society, industry and researchers, cities have to master a number of complex challenges. The reduction of energy consumption and related emissions is the greatest and perhaps most urgent of them all.

In light of these challenges, DynaMo will explore current processes of change as well as future potentials for change (dynamics) in the urban mobility sector. Thereby, DynaMo will focus on social and technical innovations in the sociotechnical system of mobility, investigating options for the more sustainable (economic, social and ecological) design of urban mobility systems. The team will analyse different mobility-related case examples with an emphasis on the following perspectives and research questions:

  1. Technology integration: a) How can information and communication technology help to foster sustainable mobility innovations? b) What are profitable business models for sustainable mobility innovations?
  2. Changes in mobility practices and associated lifestyles: a) To what extent does the expansion of sustainable mobility innovations require changes in mobility practices and associated lifestyles? b) How can sustainable mobility innovations trigger changes in mobility practices and associated lifestyles?
  3. User participation and legitimacy: a) How can sustainable mobility innovations be governed? b) When do users perceive those innovations as legitimate?

With the above-outlined focus and research question , DynaMo will seek to develop systemic knowledge about the interplay of social, technical and economic factors in the transformation of urban mobility systems. Furthermore, transformation knowledge in the form of (policy) recommendations for the implementation of sustainable mobility concepts will be generated. The strong emphasis on transdisciplinary cooperation in the project will strengthen the relevance of the outcomes for the uptake and implementation.

The following institutions are involved in DynaMo:

  • University of Stuttgart – Stuttgart Research Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies (ZIRIUS) & Institute of Human Factors and Technology Management (IAT)
  • University of Münster (WWU) – Institute of Political Science, Global Environmental Governance
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering (IAO)

DynaMo is funded within the research funding programme “Social-Ecological Research” organised by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Dr Antonia Graf (University of Münster) and Dr Marco Sonnberger (University of Stuttgart – ZIRIUS) lead the junior research group.

Contact Person

Project Staff

Former Project Staff

Sophia Alcantara (M.A.)

Activ for ZIRIUS until 2018

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe Dynamo: Mobilitäts-Energie Dynamiken in urbanen Räumen

Die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe DynaMo erarbeitet interdisziplinäres Wissen über das Zusammenspiel planungs-, politik-, verhaltens- und technologiebezogener Aspekte bei der Gestaltung von Mobilitätslösungen in urbanen Räumen.

Projektförderung

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Projektlaufzeit

August 2016 – Juli 2021

Viele Städte ringen derzeit mit Transformationsprozessen im Mobilitätsbereich. Gemeinsam mit Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, Zivilgesellschaft, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie Unternehmen gilt es daher, eine Vielzahl komplexer Herausforderungen zu meistern. Die Reduktion des mobilitätsinduzierten Energieverbrauchs und der damit assoziierten Emissionen stellt dabei nur eine, wenn auch wohl die größte Herausforderung dar.

Ausgehend von dieser Problemstellung erforscht DynaMo aktuelle Wandlungsprozesse beziehungsweise zukünftige Wandlungspotenziale (Dynamiken) im Bereich urbaner Mobilität. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf sozialen und technischen Innovationen im sozio-technischen System der urbanen Mobilität. Das Projekt verfolgt das Ziel, urbane Mobilitätsysteme im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit wirtschaftlich leistungsfähig, sozial verträglich und ökologisch tragfähig zu gestalten. Zentral sind dabei die folgenden Perspektiven, anhand derer unterschiedliche, mobilitätsbezogene Fallbeispiele untersucht werden:

  1. Technologieintegration: a) Wie sind nachhaltige Mobilitätsinnovationen unter Einbeziehung moderner Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien zu gestalten? b) Wie können nachhaltige Mobilitätsinnovationen in lohnende Geschäftsmodelle umgesetzt werden?
  2. Akzeptanz und Wandel von Mobilitätspraktiken: Inwiefern setzt die Verbreitung bestimmter nachhaltiger Mobilitätsinnovationen einen Wandel von Mobilitätspraktiken und Lebensstilen voraus beziehungsweise können durch diesen initiiert werden?
  3. Partizipation von und Bewertung durch Nutzerinnen und Nutzer: Wie können Mobilitätsinnovationen im nachhaltigen Sinne gesteuert werden und unter welchen Umständen werden sie als legitim wahrgenommen?

DynaMo generiert dabei zum einen Systemwissen über das Zusammenspiel sozialer, technischer und ökonomischer Faktoren bei der Transformation urbaner Mobilitätssysteme. Zum anderen wird Transformationswissen in Form von adressaten-gerechten Handlungsempfehlungen für die Umsetzung entsprechender nachhaltiger Mobilitätskonzepte erarbeitet. Dies geschieht in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Praxisakteuren in einem transdisziplinären Kooperationsprozess.

An DynaMo sind die folgenden Institutionen beteiligt:

  • Universität Stuttgart – Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung (ZIRIUS) & Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft und Technologiemanagement (IAT)
  • Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) – Institut für Politikwissenschaft, Lehrstuhl für Global Environmental Governance
  • Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation (IAO)

DynaMo wird im Rahmen des Förderschwerpunktes Sozial-ökologische Forschung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert. Dr. Antonia Graf (Universität Münster) und Dr. Marco Sonnberger (Universität Stuttgart – ZIRIUS) leiten die Nachwuchsforschungsgruppe

Ansprechpartner

Sprecher Themenbereich Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation / Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Telefon: +49 711 685-84297

Mitarbeiter

Sprecher Themenbereich Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation / Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Telefon: +49 711 685-84297

Ehemalige Projektmitarbeiterin

Sophia Alcantara (M.A.)

Bis 2018 für ZIRIUS tätig