Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

VENAMO: Reducing traffic congestion through new forms of work and mobility technologies

The VENAMO research project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and explores the question of the extent to which traffic relief effects can be achieved through spatial and temporal flexible work and a change in mobility behaviour for work-related travel (including the use of new mobility technologies).

Project Funding

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Project Duration

September 2020 – August 2023

The VENAMO research project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and explores the question of the extent to which traffic relief effects can be achieved through spatial and temporal flexible work and a change in mobility behaviour for work-related travel (including the use of new mobility technologies).

The study area Stuttgart has been one of the most traffic-jammed cities in Germany for years. According to Inrix, the lost time per car driver in 2019 was around 42 hours per year, and the resulting costs for drivers and society were 85 million euros. External costs not included here, e.g. for consequential environmental damage.

As around 900,000 employees in the Stuttgart Region regularly commute to their place of work and 40% of the transport performance on a working day is caused by commuter traffic, a change in behaviour for work-related ways can make an important contribution to measurably less traffic and to more sustainable urban mobility in the Stuttgart Region.

The scientific objectives of the research project are defined as follows:

  • Determine the potential for using more flexible forms of work in terms of space and time and sustainable mobility concepts.
  • Develop and test alternative forms of work and mobility in real-life experiments with the affected employees.
  • Determine the resulting traffic relief potentials in the Stuttgart Region and evaluate them socio-economically.
  • Consolidate results in dialogue with representatives of regional companies as well as regional traffic management institutions and translate them into generally transferable instruments.

Based on the assumption of positive effects on traffic congestion, design options are developed for those who are responsible in companies, businesses and municipalities in order to implement sustainable mobility management.

The project network is coordinated by the Chair of Socioeconomics at Zeppelin University (ZU). In addition to ZIRIUS, the Institute of Transport (IfV) at the KIT and Balluff GmbH are also partners in the network. The network is supported by the WRS and the VRS.

In the research network, ZIRIUS implements real-life labs with employees in companies and local administrations and shapes the regional dialogue with key actors.

Contact Person

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

To the top of the page

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

VENAMO: Verkehrsentlastung durch neue Arbeitsformen und Mobilitätstechnologien

Das Forschungsprojekt VENAMO wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert und geht der Frage nach, inwieweit durch raum-zeitlich flexible Arbeit und ein verändertes Mobilitätsverhalten bei arbeitsbezogenen Wegen (einschließlich der Nutzung neuer Mobilitätstechnologien) Verkehrsentlastungseffekte erzielt werden können.

Projektförderung

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Projektlaufzeit

September 2020 – August 2023

 

Der Untersuchungsraum Stuttgart, gehört seit Jahren zu den staureichsten Städten Deutschlands. Die Verlustzeiten pro Autofahrer*in lagen im Jahr 2019 laut Inrix bei rund 42 Stunden im Jahr, die daraus resultierenden Kosten für Fahrende und Gesellschaft bei 85 Millionen Euro. Externe Kosten, die hier nicht eingerechnet wurden, z.B. für Umweltfolgeschäden, belaufen sich auf ein Vielfaches.

Da in der Region Stuttgart rund 900.000 Beschäftigte regelmäßig zu ihrer Arbeitsstelle pendeln und an einem Werktag 40 Prozent der Verkehrsleistung durch Berufsverkehr verursacht wird, kann eine Verhaltensänderung bei berufsbezogenen Wegen einen wichtigen Beitrag zu messbar weniger Verkehr und zu einer nachhaltigeren urbanen Mobilität in der Region Stuttgart leisten.

Die wissenschaftlichen Ziele des Forschungsprojektes sind wie folgt definiert:

  • Potenzial zur Nutzung raum-zeitlich flexibler Arbeitsformen und nachhaltiger Mobilitätskonzepte bestimmen.
  • Alternative Arbeits- und Mobilitätsformen in Realexperimenten mit den betroffenen Erwerbspersonen entwickeln und testen.
  • Resultierende Verkehrsentlastungspotentiale in der Region Stuttgart bestimmen und sozio-ökonomisch bewerten.
  • Ergebnisse im Dialog mit Vertreter*innen regionaler Unternehmen und des regionalen Verkehrsmanagements konsolidieren und in allgemein übertragbare Instrumente übersetzen.

 

Unter der Annahme von positiven Effekten auf die Verkehrsbelastung, werden für die Verantwortlichen aus Unternehmen, Betrieben und Kommunen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten entwickelt, um ein nachhaltiges, betriebliches und kommunales Mobilitätsmanagement umzusetzen.

Der Projektverbund wird vom Lehrstuhl für Sozioökonomik der Zeppelin Universität (ZU) koordiniert. Verbundpartner sind neben ZIRIUS das Institut für Verkehrswesen (IfV) am KIT sowie die Balluff GmbH. Der Verbund wird unterstützt durch die Wirtschaftsförderung Region Stuttgart GmbH (WRS) und den Verband Region Stuttgart (VRS).

ZIRIUS führt im Forschungsverbund Reallabore mit Beschäftigten in Unternehmen und Kommunalverwaltungen durch und gestaltet den regionalen Dialog mit Schlüsselakteuren.

Ansprechpartner

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Zum Seitenanfang