Center for Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies

WECHSEL

The WECHSEL research project uses the example of the Neckar valley in Stuttgart to address the transformation of industrial riverside areas into sustainable urban living environments. For this purpose, it bundles interdisciplinary competencies in order to offer high-quality suggestions for Stuttgart as a river city.

Project Funding

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Project Duration

January 2017 to December 2019

The WECHSEL research project uses the example of the Neckar valley in Stuttgart to address the transformation of industrial riverside areas into sustainable urban living environments. This is a pilot project for Stuttgart – for the first time, interdisciplinary competences are being bundled in order to offer high-quality suggestions for  Stuttgart as a river city, which is currently also relevant for the Stuttgart region.

Against the background of the sustainable further development of technical infrastructure the project thus develops facilities along the Neckar as a contribution to the energy transition . From a planning perspective, the aim of the research project is to collaborate with Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart, energy suppliers, distribution system operators and other infrastructure providers to ensure the early development of perspectives and strategies to shape the future of this transformation.

The research project works out a realistic estimation of the energy potentials of the Neckar river and develops land use scenarios for an urban and landscape development along the Neckar. The process continuously involves individuals from civil society, affected citizens, stakeholders and cross-regional experts. This results in a flow of ideas, experience and regional as well as cross-regional expertise that ensure the scalability of the project whilst benefiting from the experience of similar projects.

Contact Person

Project Staff

Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung

WECHSEL

Das Forschungsprojekt WECHSEL thematisiert am Beispiel des Stuttgarter Neckartals die Transformation industriell geprägter Flussufer hin zu nachhaltigen urbanen Lebensräumen. Hierfür bündelt es interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen, um qualitätsvolle Anregungen für das Thema „Stadt am Fluss“ zu bieten.

Projektförderung

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Projektlaufzeit

Januar 2017 bis Dezember 2019

Das Forschungsprojekt WECHSEL thematisiert am Beispiel des Stuttgarter Neckartals die Transformation industriell geprägter Flussufer hin zu nachhaltigen urbanen Lebensräumen. Für Stuttgart ist dies ein Pilotprojekt: Zum ersten Mal bündelt es interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen, um qualitätsvolle Anregungen für das Thema „Stadt am Fluss“ zu bieten, das inzwischen auch für die Region Stuttgart aktuell ist.

Das Projekt entfaltet sich somit vor dem Hintergrund der nachhaltigen Weiterentwicklung technischer Infrastruktureinrichtungen entlang des Neckars als Beitrag zur Energiewende. Aus einer planerischen Perspektive gilt es daher als Zielstellung für das Forschungsvorhaben, in Kooperation mit der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart, den Energieversorgern und Verteilnetzbetreibern sowie weiteren Infrastrukturanbietern rechtzeitig Perspektiven und Strategien zu entwickeln, diese Transformation vorausschauend zu gestalten.

Die Grundlage des Forschungsprojekts bildet eine realistische Abschätzung der Energiepotenziale am Neckar und daraus abgeleitete Szenarien für Flächenpotenziale der Stadt- und Landschaftsentwicklung entlang des Neckars. In den Prozess werden fortlaufend zivilgesellschaftliche Akteure, betroffene Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, Stakeholder sowie überregionale Expertinnen und Experten eingebunden. Dadurch fließen Ideen, Erfahrungen und regionales sowie überregionales Fachwissen ein, um die Skalierbarkeit des Projektes zu gewährleisten und von den Erfahrungen aus ähnlich gelagerten Projekten zu profitieren.

Ansprechpartner

Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter